This has been a brutal winter.  Relatively speaking, of course.  I mean, yes, my car starts every morning and I don’t have to scrape the ice off of my windshield, well, ever.  And, okay, to be honest, I don’t even have a proper coat but this is usually the time of year I love most in Texas. Usually we would be driving with the windows down, having  picnics in the park and sitting on the porch in rocking chairs after dinner.  It’s been cold.  Too cold to open the windows.  Too cold to go to the park.  Too chilly to take our morning walks.  I worry that we’ll go straight from cold this month to blazing hot in April.  Where is my spring, Texas? 

I’ve put off buying Addison new clothes because I know that any day now it’s going to warm up and she won’t need pants and long-sleeved shirts anymore.  I refuse to buy her any more winter clothes, despite the fact that she’s had a HUGE growth spurt and has gone up an entire size over the past 3 months.  So I do a lot of laundry and she wears a lot of high waters. 

This weekend it warmed up for a matter of hours between cold fronts.  I took it as an opportunity to have Addie wear some of the cute spring clothes that have been hiding out in her closet for the past few months.  I don’t think she’s had a skirt or a dress on her body since October.  Within seconds of getting into her skirt on she started twirling around the living room and saying, “OOOhhhh, Mama, it’s pretty!  Addie, pretty!” with no prompting or coaching from me at all.  Though it was never a discipline I studied, I think she has a future in modern dance.

