Big Sis, Little Sib

 

I’m pregnant!  I’m actually 14 weeks pregnant, which means I passed my first trimester with flying colors.  I realize this is probably the worst kept secret in Texas.  I’ve told people who I’ve run into, but I was reluctant to make a big announcement on the internet until I knew everything was okay.   When I found out I was pregnant with Addison, I started shouting it from the rooftop as soon as the second line appeared on the test stick.  And I had a completely healthy and normal pregnancy with Addison.  I guess I’m more cautious this time around because I know just how lucky I was in my last pregnancy and I realize that there are so many things that could go wrong.  

I’m more than 1/3 of the way to having a baby and I truly don’t know where the time is going this pregnancy.  Even though I’m not working this time around, I’m probably busier than I’ve ever been.  I don’t sit at a desk all day counting down the minutes until the end of my pregnancy.  I’m chasing a 2-year-old and just trying to keep up.  I don’t have time to cry about morning sickness.  Addie doesn’t care if I get nauseous on the way out to her playdate.  So, I don’t really have time to care either.  

This pregnancy is starting out completely different from my last.  I feel more mentally stable this time.  I was an emotional wreck from day one right up until the end of my last pregnancy.  So, I’m not crying as much which.  One thing that is the same is how exhausted I’ve been.  I usually fall asleep during Addie’s nap every day and it really limits my productivity at home.  Every day I tell myself, “Oh, I feel good.  I won’t be napping today.  I’m going to go clean the bathroom.” And then Addie goes to bed and I sit down on the couch for a few minutes and the next thing I know an hour has passed and Addie is up from her nap.  I’m hoping my naps are exclusively a first trimester necessity.  

Addison is also getting excited about becoming a big sister. She wants a brother (“broveerrrrrr”).  She thinks it is so cool that she’ll be a big sister just like her cousin Bridget.  But when we talk about things like the baby sleeping in her crib, she doesn’t respond too well even though she’s excited about having a new big-girl room.  We’re working on it.  I can’t say I’m expecting an easy transition, but she’ll come around eventually.  Because she has to.  

We will find out the sex of the baby next month.  And I know everyone wonders this, but no, I don’t have a preference.  I would love for Addison to have a sister, because I have a sister and I think that relationship is pretty great.  But I would love to have a little boy too.  Although, I must admit, I’m afraid I wouldn’t know the first thing about parenting a little boy.  

