For old times sake…

  • I’ve decided to take the DSLR plunge.  I’m saving my pennies for a new camera.  I’ve been doing a lot of research but as soon as I think I’ve made up my mind I read something that sways me in another direction.  I’m looking at Canon or Nikon.  If you have one, I want to hear your input on why you love – or hate – your camera.  Once I decide on a brand, I have no idea how I’ll narrow it down to a particular model.  One step at a time…
  • The fever I wrote about earlier this week has been plaguing us every night.  Addie would be fine during the day and then as SOON as the pediatrician locked his doors for the evening, her temperature would creep back up.  She had a fever for 3 days and I didn’t take her to the doctor. Nice.  I figured she would kick whatever it was.  I told myself I’m not a new Mom anymore and don’t need to be running to the doctor for every little sniffle.  Ha!  She has a double ear infection and an infection in her throat.  Mom of the year! 
  • Addie has this quirk where she only pronounces the first syllable of certain names or words.  Like my niece Bridget is “Bid”  and a pumpkin is “pum”.  With her being sick this week we’ve been stuck in the house a lot.  She’s been asking to watch her new favorite movie “Horton Hears a Who”.  Instead of saying the whole title, or even the whole name she just points to the TV and say “Hor”.  Makes me giggle every. single. time.  Because I’m 13.
  • Terrible Twos be damned!  I am loving age 2.  Addison is much more rational than she was at this time last year.  She listens and comprehends and she even responds to what I’m saying.  With WORDS!  Communication is definitely not overrated.  I know I’m only 2 weeks into it, but temper tantrums were a daily battle last November.  Now?  Not so much.   She even helped me pick out nail polish at the store yesterday (“Mama, it’s peeeeetey. Yeah, Mama? Yeah?”)  Six months ago she would have been running through the aisles just for the thrill of the chase.
  • Oliver is feeling much better thanks to an adjustment in his steroid dosage.  Monday was a scary day here.  On Monday I was sure Ollie wasn’t going to make it to the end of the week.  He is much happier now and his energy level is back up.  I am so grateful for whatever extra time we have with him.

November13 105

Have a great weekend!

