Like every parent I spend a lot of time worrying about my baby’s development.  Some might say too much time and too much worry, but it’s not something I can help.  I have fretted and cried and I have spent countless hours Googling symptoms and incorrectly diagnosing Addison with all types of disorders.  Let me tell you, if you really want to thrill your pediatrician, start your next conversation with, “So, I read online…”  Really.

Addison has always been more of a doer than a talker.  That’s a great character trait, yes, but it’s a little unnerving when you are waiting so very impatiently for your kid to stop pointing and screaming and to start pointing and speaking.  Addison has always been right on track in her physical development, but a little slower in speech and language development.  Once she hit 20 months old though, Addison’s vocabulary started exploding.  Up until that point she was limited to a fairly short list of words; Hi, Bye, Mama, Dada, More, Yes.  Everything else was pretty much a guessing game.

We were at Gymboree one afternoon and I asked a little girl if she was having fun.  She quickly replied, “No!” Her Mom chuckled and said, “Everything is ‘No’ these days.”  Other Moms chimed in saying their child also says no to every question.  I offered that Addie didn’t know the word “no” and she usually responded to everything with “Yeah” or “Yup”.  I had to say it out loud didn’t I?  Why did I have to be so damn smug?  Wouldn’t you know, the very next week Addison not only learned – nay embraced – the word “no”, she learned to say “mine” as well.

It took everything in my being to ignore her repeated declarations of “No! Mine!”  I wouldn’t give in and correct her or reprimand her because if there is one thing that Addison loves, it is to push my buttons.  If she knows something bothers me she gets such a kick out of repeating whatever it is over and over and over.  Whether it’s screaming “Mine! Mine! Mine!” or pulling my hair, throwing her food to the dog or pouring cups of water out of the bathtub, she looks to me for a reaction.  You can see it in her mischievous little grin.

I  stood my ground and ignored “mine” and thankfully,  it has fallen by the wayside, but I’m afraid the word “no” is here to stay.  She never says “no” once and it is never just a one syllable response.

Here’s our day:

Me: Addison, let’s change your diaper.
Addie: No, no, no

Me:  Addie, get your babies.  It’s time for a nap.
Addie:  Nohohohoho

Me: Addison, please eat your lunch.
Addie:  NnnnnooooOOooooOOooo  Ha-hot
Me:  Addie, it’s not hot.
Addie:  Yeah, ha-hot Mama

When “no” doesn’t work she starts making up excuses why she can’t eat her lunch.  Every time we sit down for a meal, it’s “ha-hot”. If it’s not Goldfish or raisins, Addison doesn’t want to eat it and will tell us that it’s hot.  She’ll eventually revert back to a screaming chorus of “No”.  No has become my least favorite word in the English language, quickly passing “panties” on it’s way to the top of my most hated list.  But at least I’m not worried about her being behind anymore.

