When I finally sat down to write this blog post, the first one in, well, I don’t even want to know how long, I couldn’t decide what I wanted to write about.

Should I talk about how our laptop broke?  And how, if I do get it to work momentarily, it freezes when I get on the internet.  And it will only unfreeze by shutting it down and restarting it.  And by shutting it down, I mean, holding in the power key until it all fades to black.  How, if I want to get online, I am stuck in the office upstairs while Addison practices climbing up and down the stairs over and over and over again.  Unattended.  Today, she came upstairs carrying her little red chair (up the stairs!) so she could climb onto the bathroom counter to get her Tylenol.  No, I’m not kidding.

Or maybe, I thought, I should tell the story about how I took Addison to the doctor for a checkup and to get a vaccination.  A vaccination that I’ve been putting off.  Truth be told, I never wanted to give her this shot in the first place, but I did and it resulted in four days of a fever and 2 days of hives.

And then, I figured, if I didn’t want to talk about that, I could always write about how, while I was on the phone with Addison’s pediatrician on day four of her fever, I heard a mysterious drip, drip, dripping coming from our upstairs game room.  And how that small drip later turned into a waterfall because our air conditioner was broken.  In Texas.  In July.

My last option: July was the month Addie went on a nap strike.  Hooray for August!

No, I don’t want to write about any of those things.  They all give me heartburn and make me think too much about pouring myself a big glass of red wine.  Instead, I’ll leave you with some pictures from our lazy, uneventful weekend at home.  And if you know anyone who’s handy with repairing a ceiling, send them my way.

0801_1

0801_3

0801_4

0801_6

0801_13

0801_10

