We spent all of Monday afternoon at the Children’s Museum with every other child in the greater Houston area.  No, really.  Have I mentioned it’s hot here?   Apparently going to the Children’s Museum on a hot day is not exactly an original idea.  I should have known it would be busy when we checked in at the front desk and were handed passes to “skip the line”.  My first thought was, “What line?” because I had never actually seen a line for anything at the museum before.

As we walked through Addison’s favorite exhibit she stuck close to my side, already overwhelmed by the chaos and the noise.  We made a beeline for the elevator and were relieved to see that the Tot Spot upstairs was relatively calm.  We hunkered down there for the rest of the afternoon.   Since we were with some friends, one of whom is still a baby, this area was the perfect speed for us.

cmhouston010

Every so often we will be somewhere and Addison will show an interest in something – a toy or activity – and I will give myself a mental head slap because I didn’t think to introduce her to it sooner.  Whether I didn’t know it existed, or my Mommy brain is fried, or I just thought she was too young, there are some things I wouldn’t think Addison would care for.  At the museum on this particular day Addie discovered a Tea Set.  (Yes!  I know!  Why didn’t I think of this sooner?)

cmhouston011

Unfortunately for every other small child with an interest in tea, there was only one teapot.  There were plenty of cups and saucers to go around, but only one tea set.  Addie was happy to serve tea to anyone who showed an interest in it, or happened to glance her way when she had the teapot in her hands (boys, girls, Moms, Dads, babies).  But she was not giving up the teapot.

cmhouston4

Here’s what I don’t understand about this scenario:  I don’t drink tea.  I don’t use fancy saucers under my coffee mugs.  I certainly don’t own a teapot or kettle.  I have never so much as sang the song I’m a Little Teapot to Addie.  I have no idea where she learned that the cup goes on the saucer and the teapot pours the tea into the cup.  No.  Clue.

cmhouston2

All that I do know is that Addison was playing Tea Party like it was her job and she would not be parted from her teapot.  I think there were some very sad children having tea parties at the foam table  in the little blue house with no teapot because Addison had run off with it.  And one of the teacups.  She put the cup inside the teapot under the lid so she could have one hand free.  Problem solver, that one.

cmhouston9

cmhouston7

A little tea for the road.

cmhouston8

cmhouston6

As I was writing this post, I went way back into the Addie Baby archives because Addison has done this type of thing before and I knew that I had documented it here.  Last summer at our library’s story time there was a little purple toy piano that she just had to have all to herself every week.  When I found the post I was looking for I was shocked to see that it was written one year ago today.  But I was even more shocked to see how much my baby has changed over those 365 days.

storytime6

I think of the little girl I just put to bed who kept insisting all evening that her name was Elmo, and I can hardly remember a time when she didn’t giggle or have pigtails and she scooted around on all fours.  It’s hard for me to believe that it was just a year ago.  I digress.

Once it was clear that Addie wasn’t giving up the teapot, I was preoccupied with thoughts of what a struggle it would be to tell her it was time to go and we would be leaving the teapot behind.  Another little girl solved that problem for me by walking over and ripping the teapot from Addie’s hands.   There was a little back and forth tugging involved and while Addison can hold her own, this girl was much older and spoke in complete sentences.  Addie didn’t stand a chance.  She turned and looked at me with that lip and then it started to quiver and I knew that she was so very, very upset.  My heart broke for her because it’s a hard lesson to learn.  The tears subsided quickly and I was able to distract her with one of the thousands of other toys.  It even freed up her hands to hug her Mama.

cmhouston5

