Addison’s vocabulary is growing every day.  It took a long time, but her babbling has turned into real words.  Actual words in the English language.  I was just beginning to worry that she was behind but as soon as she turned twenty months old she started picking up new words every single day.  It has been a lot of fun to see what she picks up on.   Most recently she’s been holding up one finger and telling me she’ll ‘be right back’ before she runs into another room to grab a toy or snack.  It’s nice, being able to finally understand what Addison was previously trying to communicate through grunts and frustrated screams.  It has it’s downside too, because when Addie wants something she will make sure you hear her.  Over and over and over again.

Addie has always had a thing for shoes.  When she started crawling she would head to our shoes by the front door to  play with them, occasionally leaving a present for us inside.  When she began to walk she loved to put our shoes on and trip all over the house.  Most recently, she has learned to put her own shoes on.  It would be cute, this little trick, except that once Addie gets her shoes on her feet she thinks it’s time to go somewhere.  I’ve resorted to hiding her shoes because – out of sight out of mind, right?  I figured if Addison couldn’t see her shoes she wouldn’t put them on and hang on the front door whining.

My plan was working until this past week when Addison really mastered saying she word “Shoes”.  Now, instead of putting them on her feet she sits in her little red chair saying, “Shoes, shoes…” over and over again.  And because she thinks I am an imbecile, she says this while lifting her foot towards me and pointing at it to make sure I am catching her drift.  Shoes on the feet, not on the hands.  The problem with this is that we live in Texas where every day for the past 2 weeks (!) the temperature has reached 100 degrees.  I love that Addison wants to go outside and play but at 3:00 in the afternoon it is simply too hot to play out in our shadeless back yard.  It’s too hot to go for a walk to the neighborhood park which also has no trees.  And with UV advisories nearly every day, I don’t even like to take her to the pool.  This is the trade off for being able to eat dinner on the patio in December.

Yesterday, while I was fixing her lunch, I glanced into the living room and saw Addison wiping the coffee table with a baby wipe.  She loves to help me clean; she wipes down the tables and sweeps, she even does windows.  I said to her, “Addie thank you so much for helping Mommy by cleaning the table.”  She looked up at me, stuck her bottom lip out and howled “SSHHHHHOOOOEEEEESSSS” at the top of her lungs.  As if to say, “Lady, please don’t make me clean anymore I just want to go out and play like a normal kid.”  I handed her the mop.

