The shopping is done, the meals are planned and the stocking are full.  Yes, I know Santa usually fills stockings on Christmas Eve, but this year he wanted to get it out of the way early.  There’s only so much he can do in one night.  The only thing left to do at my house – other than the cooking and participating in general Christmas merriment – is to wrap gifts and clean the house.

I usually save tasks like this for Addison’s twice daily nap times.  It’s not that I can’t do anything while Addison is awake, it’s just that I can’t do anything that doesn’t involve me looking at her or talking to her or holding her while she’s awake.  I’m okay with that, though, because I love holding her.  But I’m not going to lie; I look forward to nap time.  It’s the one time of day when I have the luxury of using both hands.  Addie is just at an age where she’s curious and wants to be doing whatever I’m doing.  That means if I’m at the sink washing dishes or at the stove making her lunch, she wants to oversee the proceedings from my left hip.  This works out most of the time because I don’t set unreal expectations about what I can actually get done during the day.  And besides, nap time is usually just a few hours away.

Yesterday Addison decided she didn’t want to take an afternoon nap.  She stood up there in her crib alternately singing and screaming a blood curtling scream.  It’s a scream I can’t ignore and I think she knows it.  It’s as if the boogey-man himself has walked out of her closet and stolen all of the baby dolls from her bed.  It happens, but lately it’s been happening with greater frequency.  Whenever Addie skips a nap I usually hold my breath for 2 days until she gets back on schedule.  I realize how lucky I am to have a toddler who still naps twice a day and I’d like to extend that luck for as long as I can.   Today, though I have made three attempts, Addison has taken exactly zero naps.   Maybe Santa doesn’t wrap gifts after all.

