holidayparty1

Last Friday afternoon Addie Baby and I drove into the heart of big city to meet Scott at work for his company’s family Holiday party.  I was excited about this party right up until Friday morning when I stopped to think about the details.  Why do I bother myself with all of this thinking?  My life would be simpler if I did more doing and did less thinking.  I digress.  I thought about it and then I began to dread it.   There would be people at this event.  People that Addison didn’t know.  People who would look at her and they may even try to make eye contact.  Some may have the nerve to smile at her and at this moment, eye contact and smiling is totally unacceptable in Addison’s world.  I knew that this party would be crawling with people and she would be petrified.   The end result would be Addison scaling my body, digging her claws into my shoulder and hiding her face in my neck.  For 2 hours.

holidayparty3

When we walked in it was even worse than I had imagined. The first thing we see is a giant Toy Soldier on stilts making balloon animals for the kids.  And as we turned the corner?  A man in a train conductor’s uniform handing out beautiful hardcover editions of The Polar Express.  Awful!  And worse still, when we walked into the main room?  Elves.  Singing.  Singing Elves!  It was at this moment that I began patting myself on the back for having the forethought to toss the baby sling into my bag.  If I had to carry her around all afternoon at least I’d have the use of both hands.

holidayparty2

Trivia:  Name that balloon animal*

Except, I didn’t need the baby sling.  In fact, I didn’t really hold Addison at all for the duration of the event.  Somehow Scott convinced her not only to accept a balloon animal from a very large man, but to also sit still long enough to let a stranger paint an alarmingly realistic peppermint candy on her hand.

holidayparty5

I think sometimes, Addison’s fear of strangers is trumped only by her desire to run.  It took her a few minutes to warm up, but soon enough she was down on the floor and making her way through the crowds at the party.  The cool think about being 2.5 feet tall is that you can just swerve in and out of crowds and between legs without much notice.  The really sucky aspect of Addison being 2.5 feet tall is that we as her parents can’t get away with that without making everyone feel really awkward.

holidayparty6

She would look up at every pair of Khaki pants that came within a three foot radius of her, thinking they belonged to her father.  When she was met with an unfamiliar face she would just glare at them and move on.  I have no idea where she gets that.  At least she wasn’t sobbing with her face on the floor.  That’s how she spent the last party we attended.

holidayparty4

As usual, Addison surprised me.  Just when I’m sure I’m prepared and I know exactly how she’ll react to a situation, she does the exact opposite.  By the end of the day, she was running around, squealing.  She even approached a singing elf and in the end we had to drag her screaming from the party.  Who is this child and can I keep her until after we visit Santa at the mall?

P.S.  We Elfed Ourselves. Make a video of your own.   I promise I will sit through it.

P.P.S. Don’t adjust your monitors.  It’s snowing in Addie Baby Land.

*It’s two poodles kissing.  Would you ever have guessed?

