Our journey to New England wasn’t entirely for fun.  My initial reasoning for the trip was to be there to help my niece and nephews while my sister was in New York filming a show for a popular f00d television network.  And no, I won’t type out the name of that network on my blog because I don’t want any Google searches leading anyone here.  I’ll talk more about that when it’s time.

My intentions were good.  I would stay for one week of the time that Jen was gone and I would be a huge help and run the kids to and from school and make their dinner and do their homework with them and then read them stories and then tuck them into bed at night.  And in my head I was well dressed and my hair looked fabulous.  In actuality, because of Addison’s birthday and birthday party, my timing was a little off.  I was only there for a few days before my sister got home.  And that’s a little self serving, really, because I couldn’t imagine being home and not seeing her.  It would break my heart into a thousand pieces.  Secretly, I was glad that I could be there to spend time with her when she returned.

I wasn’t much of a help with the kids either, though I did run them to school and cook dinner a few nights.  I think I sometimes take for granted that we live in a baby proofed house.  My job as a stay-at-home-mom is made infinitely easier by the small changes we’ve made over the past year towards creating a safe environment for Addison.  Or a sane environment for ourselves.  The week at my sister’s house was largely spent chasing Addison around and telling her no.  While I was in the kitchen replacing all of the pans she pulled out of the cupboard, she would run to the bathroom to unravel the toilet paper.  While I’m on the floor cleaning up toilet paper she’s running to the stairs to climb to the top.  Taking care of Addison and making sure she didn’t hurt herself was a family affair.  Even the kids got in on it.  At one point, at the end of our first day there, my niece Bridget turned to me and said, “I can’t believe you have to do this all day long.”  I thought, “Neither can I” but then I realized that caring for Addison is not all that difficult in a more controlled environment…like a padded room.

Unfortunately there was help with homework or tucking them into bed as I had hoped.  In fact, I was probably in bed before them most nights.  That’s thanks in no small part to Addison and her inability to sleep past 6:30 when not in her own bed.  However, she woke up no earlier than 5:00 AM so there’s a bright side to everything, I suppose.  Each morning she would wake up screaming at some ungodly hour, and continue the screaming until I stuck a sippy cup full of milk in her mouth.  I did this as quickly as possible – even going so far as to prepare her cup the night before and leave it in the refrigerator door  – so that the normal people in the house could sleep until at least sunrise.

This morning, after nine straight mornings of early rising, Addison slept until 8:00.  For the first time ever.  I even went into her room at 7:30 to wake her (because I’m insane) but she wasn’t having any of it.  She rolled over and ignored me.  Yesterday, after a month of screaming, Addison’s molar broke through her gums.  Coincidence?  Probably.  But I’m glad to have my sleeping baby back just the same.

