This isn’t a political blog.  This is a blog about my daughter, for my daughter.  This blog is about her infantdom and early childhood.  It’s about the things we do and how she’s growing and what’s important to us in the present.  This is a time capsule of sorts.  I hope that someday Addison will read this and get a good idea of life was like when she was young.

Today Addie and I went to vote in the 2008 presidential election between senators Barack Obama and John McCain.  That is why I’m writing this post.  This election is important to me mostly because I believe it’s results will profoundly affect the climate in which Addison grows up and the country her generation will inherit.   Addie and I will be traveling on November 4th and unable to vote on election day.  Luckily, Texas has early voting which, if you ask me, is actually better than voting on election day.  There are convenient voting locations all over town and you don’t have to wait in those long election day lines.  We were in and out of the polling facility in less than 10 minutes.  And, as a bonus, it was at a park.  After Addison sat patiently in stroller while I read through a list of judges I had never heard of, she got to run around the playground.

When Addison gets older there’s not a doubt in my mind that she and her classmates will be reading about this year’s historic election in school.  That’s why it’s important to me that she knows that her parents are concerned about the state of this country.  I hope she realizes that becoming a parent has changed me in so many ways; political beliefs included.  The recent shift in my views is probably more pronounced than it  would be in a non-election year.  I may not have even noticed it if I weren’t staring at the news every night, with my hands on my head inwardly screaming, “WHAT THE FUCK????”  Now that I’ve actually brought a child into this crazy, messed up world, I’ve spent the last few months scrambling to determine which team is best suited to fix it.

I voted today because it’s important to me that Addison grow up to have the right to choose what’s best for her body.  Someday she may have to make the difficult decision of whether or not to have an abortion.  I want that to be an option for her.  I want birth control pills to be available to her if she chooses to use them before she’s ready to start a family.  I want these things to be a choice for her because I don’t think women need someone telling them what’s best for their families or their bodies.  We’ve come a long way and I think this is a decision that we – an informed generation of women – can make on our own. Did you know they even let us help pick the president now?

I want Addison to grow up in a country that allows two people in love to get married regardless of their gender.  I hope that someday all of the 50 states and the federal government recognize the rights of same sex couples.  I want to see our political leaders do more than “tolerate” these marriages.   I hope to see it happen in my lifetime.

I also want this long war in the Middle East to end.  I want our soldiers to come home and be reunited with their families.  I want them out of harm’s way.  I want to see them at the playground with their kids, not on the news dodging bullets.  I don’t want to see Addison’s friends drafted into our mess 17 years from now.

I want my daughter to know that I recognize the need for change in this country.  I’m trying my best to be a part of it.  That is why I took Addison to the polls today.  Some will say that my vote may not matter much where I live, but it’s mine and I wasn’t about to waste it.

