Today marks 7 days that Addison has been off the bottle.  It would have been ten, but I came home one day last week to find Addison’s sippy cup in shreds on my living room floor.  It smelled mysteriously of dog slobber.  Since Addie was refusing formula from her regular sippy cup, I had an idea to get her a new cup exclusively for milk.  This cup is pretty much shaped like a bottle, and it has what almost looks like a bottle nipple on it.  The only difference I can really see is that she can drink faster from the cup.  Now, after she finishes her milk, she lets out a string of burps.  Loud, beer drinkin’, bar room, Homer Simpson like burps.  They resonate through her toes.

When we introduced the new cup, we also started introducing milk with her formula.  I wanted Addie to get used to the taste of milk without it being a huge shock to her.  And I was worried it would hurt her belly.  She’s been getting a milk/formula mixture for a week now.  As of 1:30 this afternoon I used the last 2 ounces of formula and I’m trying to fight the urge to run to Target to buy another canister before her evening bottle.  Formula is my crutch.

She seems to be doing well on the milk but I’m more worried about me, because I’ve been eyeing up Chocolate Milk and Strawberry Milk at the grocery store.  Did you know they make organic, flavored milk that doesn’t need to be refigerated?  It’s true.   I know it’s only a matter of time before I cross the line into chocolate milk and Addison refuses it any other way for the rest of her life.  In fact, I think I need to clear my fridge of those bottles of Coffee Syrup that Mom sent.  The temptation is just too much for me.

