• I started reading this book series and I can’t stop.  I know I’m about 14 years behind everyone else on this.  I did pick up one of these books in college, got halfway through and judged it mindless crap.  I was a bit of a literary snob back then.  Now?  Now I welcome the escape that the books offer.  Now, my brain is fried and at the end of the day I need some mindless crap.  Lots of it.
  • This morning, for the first time in months, Addison slept past 7:00 AM.  When Scott kissed me goodbye at 6:50 and I still had not herd a peep from her it took everything I had not to fly up the stairs to check that she was still breathing.  I restrained myself and not only did she sleep until 7:05, she woke up and played in her crib for another 15 minutes.  Whatever we did differently in her bedtime routine last night, I’m going to do everyday for the next 17 years.
  • This weekend we’re taking Addison to a pumpkin patch and farm for some good old fashioned fall fun.  I always equate apple picking with October but there are no orchards around here, so the pumpkin patch will have to do.  I wonder if we get to pick the pumpkins.
  • Also on the weekend agenda:  Find a Halloween costume for Addison.  I have seen a number of costumes online that I’ve come *this* close to ordering but I just can’t decide.  There are so many cute costumes out there for babies.  I don’t know why I’m making such a big deal of it.  It’s not like it’s her first Halloween.  Last year was her first Halloween and we went trick or treating around the maternity wing of the hospital.

  • I’m still on my crusade to find more activities for Addison and have decided to take the leap and join the local Mom’s group.  I’ve resisted this previously, because I generally don’t do well with large groups of women, but I’ve met a lot of these Moms on the toddler circuit around town and they’re very nice.  I’m still nervous.
  • Yesterday, after visiting Scott’s office for lunch, we took our first trip to the Houston Children’s Museum.  Addison had a blast!  They have a special area for infants and toddlers so they can run and explore and parents don’t have to worry about losing them in a sea of big kids.  There were a lot of age appropriate toys, books and games.  As usual, Addison attached herself to a toy- a yellow and blue ball – and wouldn’t let it out of her sight for the duration of our visit.   We played there for almost 2 hours and Addie crashed as soon as I put her in the car.

