It’s getting hairy out there.  No rain in our part of town, but the winds are wicked and whipping through the trees.  I have a feeling we’re going to lose a few branches in our yard.  I’m okay with it though; they needed a good pruning anyway.  We’re in a fairly new neighborhood so luckily there are no big trees that we need to watch.  I will never forget the hurricane that hit Rhode Island when I was 10 years old.  It knocked the big (beautiful) tree in our front yard clear across the road.  Thankfully it fell across the street instead of through my bedroom window, but seeing a tree taller than your house going down is scary all the same.

They have issued a curfew for our county so it looks like we’re in for the night.  They’re predicting up to 10″ of rain and winds of around 50 mph in our area.  I still can’t figure out what time the storm is supposed to pass over us.  All of my links are failing me.

Addie is in bed, but I’m hearing sounds on the monitor and I know she’s having trouble sleeping with this noisy wind.  I’m planning to sleep upstairs to be near her in case anything happens in the night.  What?  I don’t know.  Truly, my worst fear for this storm is losing power, and along with it, our air conditioning.  I’m not worried about damage to my house or my family, and I know my friends are all safe so my worries are completely superficial.  I’m worried I will be too warm for a few days and the chicken in my freezer will go bad.  Boo Hoo!

Here’s a video update from my neighborhood at 8:00 PM.

