September starts my favorite time of year.  This month makes me feel like everything is in order again.  This is when the stars align and the air gets cooler and the world goes back to normal.  The anarchy of summer is over; everyone has taken their vacations and have gone back to work, the kids are in school and the white shoes are in the back of the closet.  Autumn has always been my favorite time of year.  Growing up in New England it’s hard NOT to love the colors and smells of fall.  I love the smell of dying leaves.  Morbid, isn’t it?

Now that I’m a Stay-at-Home-Mom the seasons don’t affect me in the least.  Well, they shouldn’t anyway.  Nor should the days of the week, but I still get excited when Friday rolls around.  If anything, I should probably be mourning the end of summer.  It means the end of trips to the pool and the end of all of those extra activities that are available for kids in the summer.  It’s not as if Addison is going to school and I’m looking forward to more ‘me’ time.  I think it’s just ingrained after so many years of that Monday through Friday, September to June schedule that this time of year brings a renewed sense of normalcy.  I only wish I had an excuse to go out and buy school clothes and new office supplies.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s still hot in Houston.  90 degrees will always feel like summer to me but the mornings and evenings are increasingly cooler and lend themselves to long walks or dinners outside.  I suppose to me, September in Texas means being able to enjoy the outdoors more with Addison, even if the leaves don’t change color.

