Every week our local library holds a story time for babies. There’s not usually much story telling going on. One lone baby may sit and listen to a story but when you put two dozen of them in a room together they revolt. But story time is always fun because we play games and sing nursery rhymes and then the babies get to interact and play. And I have to admit, the toys at story time are way cooler than the toys we have at home. Plus, the Moms get to drink coffee and not talk baby talk for a little while. Story time went on hiatus for six weeks and this week was the first week back. It’s such a nice activity to break up the week and I was really look forward to getting back into it. When Addison woke up yesterday and still had the smallest hint of a rash left over from being sick I decided it was probably best if we didn’t go. Yes, she was fine and acting like normal but I would feel awful if she passed anything on to another baby. We skipped story time and stayed home for the 6th day in a row.

I was itching to get out of the house. I think even Addie Baby had a case of cabin fever. I caught her trying to escape while I was making breakfast…

Just going upstairs for a little change of atmosphere…

Busted!

Today, not being able to stand one more day in the house, we headed out to the Children’s Museum. It’s actually a satellite location of the main children’s museum but it’s much more convenient because it’s only a few miles from our house. It’s also free for kids under one, but $5 for me. When we got inside I thought maybe I had wasted my admission fee. There was a lot to do, but mostly for older kids. We wound our way to the back and found a little fenced in area for kids under 3 years old with mats and books and mirrors and age appropriate toys.

When we got settled in the Tot Spot (as it’s called), Addie wasn’t sure what to do. She just kind of sat on the mat next to me. All of the other kids were walkers and the whole point of this area just wasn’t clicking for her. All of the noise and the new toys and the kids seemed to overwhelm her. She was content to just sit next to me and take it all in for a while…

Finally, a fellow crawler arrived and kept wanting to play with Addie. Once Addison saw him crawling around and climbing the mats she wandered off to explore. Thanks to the age restriction I was never worried about her getting trampled by big kids. We were lucky today because there were never more than 5 children in the Tot Spot area.

My only regret is that we didn’t go earlier in the day. I cut it too close to nap time so we only stayed for an hour. I hope we can make this a weekly trip. Addison seemed to enjoy playing with the other kids. I know this because she kept trying to kiss them. I had to run interference because Addie doesn’t know how to kiss without digging her claws into the side of your face. Okay for me and Scott, but probably not for little 14-month-old Morgan.

