We first traveled long distance with Addie Baby when she was just 12 weeks old. Having never flown with an infant before, we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into. Midway through our first flight, Addison woke up with a wet diaper. Scott and I looked at each other like, “Okay, how is this supposed to work?”. We worked out a system where he would hold Addison on the Boppy pillow on his lap and I would change the diaper. It wasn’t a big deal to us; she was so little she actually fit nicely across Scott’s lap and besides that she wasn’t much of a pooper back then. Once or twice a week at best. I was used to changing her diaper in the pitch dark in the middle of the night so this was no problem at all. We went with this arrangement on all of our subsequent flights that trip.

I found out – too late, obviously – that there are, in fact, changing tables on airplanes. WHO KNEW? In the airplane bathroom there is this little Murphy Bed-like table that folds out of the wall. They’re not the best surface on which to change a baby, but it’s much better than Dad’s lap. Childless people don’t pay attention to these things. I’ve flown hundreds of times pre-baby and I never once noticed the changing table in the bathroom. If I had, I wouldn’t have been taking her drawers off on my husband’s lap for all to see. Check it out next time you fly.

Addie and I set out on our solo trip much better prepared than last time. On our flight back to Houston Addison woke up from her nap with a wet diaper. I took her to the restroom and changed her without a problem. I have to admit, even though it was a little bumpy, I was feeling pretty good about being able to change her without flashing her girly parts to all around us. We went back to our seats and Addie was about 4 ounces into her bottle when I smelled something that made my stomach turn. I knew immediately that she needed another diaper change and that she needed it quickly. I usually can’t smell her dirty diaper until I’m changing it. And even then it’s not that bad. This was a bad one.

We were hitting some moderate turbulence so the fasten seatbelt sign was on. But that’s never stopped me before and my kid needed a new diaper. Now. She was very shortly going to need a whole new outfit if I didn’t do something about it. I looked behind me and saw that not only were both restrooms occupied, there was a line five deep. I didn’t have that kind of time. I apologized to the woman seated next to us and then I had to revert back to our old methods. I changed her nasty diaper right there in my seat. Very carefully. And then with nowhere to put it (the flight attendants were seated due to turbulence) I had to shove the stink ball into my carry on bag. Let me tell you, you have not lived until you’ve changed a poopy diaper at 36,000 feet.

