We’re back!  Actually, we’ve been back and now we’re all settled and back in our routine and reacquainted with our surroundings.  And when I say “we” I mean Addie, because the first night we got home she was all out of sorts and stayed up late and was actually afraid of Oliver (GASP!).

As I’ve written before, my biggest fears about traveling with Addison wholly and completely surround the air travel portion of our trip.  I don’t know why, because she’s never had a melt down yet.  in fact, she’s more pleasant and friendly on an airplane than she is on any average day at home.  On our way to Boston we were seated in a row with two men from Spain; a father and his middle-aged son.  The son has four young children so they were not at all phased by Addie and her antics during the flight.  In fact, they were very sweet and played with her and offered to hold her while I made bottles and went to the rest room.  I couldn’t have asked for nicer row companions.  At one point, while Addison was dozing off on my shoulder I looked over and she was balling up the sleeve of the father’s sweater in her  little fist, as she tends to do with any nearby soft fabric when she’s sleepy.

On our flight home Addison scored her own seat.  It was heavenly!  I almost felt like I was flying as a normal person again.  While she napped in the seat next to me, I was able to read, watch (most) of the in-flight movie and even have a cup of diet coke.  These are luxuries far out of reach when flying with an infant on your lap.  When she was awake she played quietly and wanted to explore her surroundings.  She was smiling and waving to everyone around us.  She was a total charmer!

At the end of the flight while everyone was gathering their belongings and getting ready to depart, people were commenting – with some surprise – on how well behaved Addison was during the  flight.  Even the man who sat in front of Addison who was clearly put out at not being able to recline his seat due to Addie’s car seat.  I see the look of terror in their eyes when I board the plane.  Everyone’s hoping they don’t have to sit near “the baby” on the plane.  They’re all expecting to land with a horror story about the baby who screamed for four hours straight.  I always want to tell those people that we don’t want to sit near them any more than they want to sit near us.  But I bite my tongue and just let Addie Baby be Addie Baby and – hopefully – prove them wrong.

