As it goes with etiquette and morals, the same rules apply to parenting. If you have to ask, you probably shouldn’t have even considered it. But the whining. Oh, the whining. The constant whining has been driving me up a wall. And it’s contagious, apparently, because now I’m doing it.

I was considering headphones, and some Randy Rogers Band turned up to 11 when she bit my finger.   She bit my finger and I felt something sharp in her mouth.  A tooth!  Wait…teeth.  Two of them.  My baby girl has cut her first two teeth.  So after I got over the initial shock and excitement I immediately felt like the World’s Worst Mommy because my baby was suffering and all I could think about was what song I could drown her out with.

Addie Baby’s bottom two front teeth are in and they’re slowly growing.  You can’t see them yet, but just thinking about it makes me miss her gummy smile. I must check her mouth 10 times a day to see just how big they’re getting.  Addison is on to me now and when she sees my finger coming towards her mouth she clamps it shut like a clam shell.  I have no idea how long it will take them to come up fully.  I’ve scoured the internet and there’s no real indication on how long a tooth takes to grow once it breaks through the surface of the gums.

I think she’s still in some pain; my first clue was when she woke up from her nap screaming and shoving her fist into her mouth.  Tylenol and teething tablets only off her mild relief.

Let’s hear it; do you have any tried and true teething remedies?

