The Addie Baby house is beginning to look like a day care center. Now that I am a parent, I find myself coming back to the phrase Never Say Never time and again. Before I had little Addie, I told myself that I wouldn’t let my house turn into Romper Room. I didn’t want all of those large fixture-like toys overtaking my house. And, to be honest, I still don’t. But when you’re a stay at home Mom with a young baby, your choice of in-home activities are limited. I mean, you can only read The Runaway Bunny so many times in one day. And you can only hold the baby for so long before you both go out of your minds. So, you start noticing these toys that hold your baby, keep them occupied and help their development. Here in the AB household we have stations set up all over the downstairs living area.

img_2322_edited-2.jpg

The Sleep Station: Where Addison has napped since she was four days old. If Addison and I were dropped off on a deserted island and could only have one thing, I think this is what I would choose. She would be sssooo miserable with sand in her diaper!

She takes marathon naps in this swing. When she was a newborn there were a few nights when this was the only place she would sleep. We first put her in this swing the day we came home from the hospital. It was on the lowest setting and we thought she was going to fly through the window. Scott said, “Is that safe? It’s making me nauseous.” Now it’s on the highest setting. I’m afraid that she’ll grow out of it soon and I’ll have to buy a bigger one. But they don’t make bigger ones so I’ll need to find a backup generator to keep the motor running as she continues to gain weight.

Jumeroo

The Jumping Station: Where Addie is supposed to jump. She loves the jumping motion she just doesn’t quite grasp that she can do it herself. So I end up sitting on the floor next to her, singing made up songs to the music and bouncing the Jumperoo myself while she giggles and lifts her feet up far from the floor.

Playstation

The Exerstation: Where she is supposed to spin herself around and hit buttons that play music. Really, she justs sits there with the cell phone in her mouth and her elbow resting on the music button so the Itsy Bitsy Spider plays on repeat. She doesn’t last long in here before she has her head down trying to eat the seat cushion.
Floor

The Playstation: This is where Addison has her Tummy Time. Since she learned to roll over there is no such thing as tummy time anymore. As proud as we are of her for learning to roll over, I think she is even happier. Tummy Time was such a struggle for us. She would kick and scream and turn red. She hated being on her tummy! Now, as soon as I lay her down she flips right over onto her back and pulls those little hanging rattles into her mouth. She’s much happier that way!

Rockin

The Rockin’ Station – I think this is both mine and Addison’s favorite. It’s also the most portable and the quietest making it, in my view, the least obnoxious. Farm animals and primary colors aside, of course. This is the seat that she sits in while she’s cooking in the kitchen with Momma every night. It doesn’t fold up but it’s easy to carry from room to room. And the best thing about it is that she can use it well into toddler-hood.

I keep telling myself that these toys – no matter how large and loud – are good for my baby and any future additions to the Addie Baby Family. I just hope I don’t have to look at them for too much longer!

