Even though it’s 100 degrees outside and only the beginning of August, I can’t help but feel that summer is winding down.  I’ve already started shopping for school supplies and even saw a Halloween display in a store this morning.  I’m okay with this.  Great, in fact!  Fall is my favorite time of year.  I’m looking forward to cool days at the park and apple cider and not burning the soles of my feet on the deck when I take Ollie out for a pee.  Really, that just happened.

Addie is getting ready to finish up her summer dance and gymnastics programs.  When I took her to her first class, I remember thinking, “Oh, perfect timing, her last class is right when I’m due to have the baby.” On the one hand I can’t wait to have this baby and meet our little girl, but at the same time I can’t help but wonder where the summer went.  What happened to all of those weeks that I was supposed to be productive preparing for #2?  July was a crazy month around our house and I’m giving myself a pass for not having everything in order for baby.

And what happened to my shy little girl, who on the first day of class looked at me through the glass with tears in her eyes?  Now, she runs into the studio like she owns the place and can’t wait to catch the first glimpse of her teachers while we’re waiting for class.  They’re like celebrities to Addie.  It’s hard to believe that just a few weeks ago she was hiding her face in my leg.  This makes me hopeful for when she starts Mom’s Day Out next month.

